Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 22nd, 2011

Early sign would suggest after 99 days or 1,188 hours or 71,280 minutes or 4,276,800 seconds (not that I’m counting) in casts I have re-ruptured my achilles.

I went for an Ultrasound this morning at the hospital and I could tell by the atmosphere as I was getting it done that something was wrong. The nice man who did my original Ultrasound all those weeks ago was brought in for a second opinion and he had to break the bad news.

It would seem like there is a 4cm ish break in the tendon and even though my foot feels fine and there’s plenty of movement in it when I heard the ‘POP!’ something happened. I now have to wait till Wednesday to see the consultant and see where we go from there, he might want an MRI to see exactly what’s going on.

It’s all very confusing considering that I passed the Thompson test, can still move my foot, have no pain, maybe there’s a small light at the end of the tunnel, but this time I’m ready for the worst.

It’s a strange feeling, at least in a way I now know. Even though I’d been given an all clear before I never fully believed that I was out of the woods. Last time when I thought it had gone I was a bit of a mess to be honest, really upset, this time I don’t have that, I just feel like ‘O well, have to start again, at least I’m not sick’

Sorry if you are reading this and it upset you, there’s still only a small chance of a re-rupture so don’t get all doom and gloom on me ya hear!

Read Full Post »